WHY FAMILY FARMING?

whyfamilyfarming

The world’s population will reach 9 billion by 2050. Are we ready to feed an extra 2 billion mouths? Consensus has been growing around the crucial role of family farmers in ensuring food security for our future populations. In fact, with over 500 million family farms in the world today, this is the predominant form of agriculture and it is inextricably linked to the fight against hunger and poverty.

We are very conscious of the key role that family farmers will play towards the eradication of hunger; in making the shift to more sustainable and inclusive food production systems, and in reducing rural poverty for future generations. At the Livelihoods Camp 2015, we put the spotlight on them by recognizing their unique contributions to our society. This unique occasion celebrates best practices and initiatives that allow them to increase their productivity, thus benefitting the rest of our planet.

Paradoxically, though family farmers are key to providing food security, they are among the world’s most vulnerable populations. More than 70% of the food insecure population is made up of family farmers in rural areas of Africa, Asia, and Latin America. They cannot reach their full production potential because they lack access to resources, credit, policies and technologies.

Furthermore, climate change is exacting a heavy toll on agricultural production. The economic, social and environmental stakes linked to family farming are particularly high in Africa, notably in West Africa and in countries in the Sahel, which are particularly vulnerable to the challenges of adapting to climate change and rely on vulnerable ecosystems.

The purpose of the Livelihoods 2015 Camp is to bring together prominent actors from the public and private sectors working in the fields of agriculture and sustainable development to come up with the best solutions for tomorrow’s family farming and to equip farmers with the right tools and information to increase their productivity. All kind of evidence shows that poor family farmers can quickly deploy their productivity potential when the appropriate policy environment is effectively put in place. Public and private actors can help by providing vital financial services, such as access to credit and insurance. The point of the hands-on camp is to foster a dynamic exchange and network.

POURQUOI L’AGRICULTURE FAMILIALE ?

whyfamilyfarming

La population mondiale atteindra 9 milliards de personnes en 2050. Serons-nous prêts à nourrir 2 milliards d’hommes et femmes supplémentaires d’ici 2050 ? Un consensus mondial a émergé progressivement sur l’importance du rôle que joue l’agriculture familiale pour la sécurité alimentaire dans le monde entier. Effectivement, avec quelques 500 millions de petites fermes aujourd’hui, l’agriculture familiale est la forme prédominante d’agriculture dans le secteur de la production alimentaire et est étroitement liée avec la lutte contre la faim et la pauvreté.

Nous sommes très conscients du rôle clé que les petits agriculteurs jouent dans l’éradication de la pauvreté et la transition vers des systèmes de productions agricoles plus inclusifs et durables. À l’occasion du Livelihoods Camp 2015, nous voulons mettre l’accent sur les paysans et reconnaître leur contribution à notre société. Cette occasion unique récompensera les meilleures pratiques et initiatives qui permettent aux paysans des plus petites communautés rurales d’accroître leur productivité et ainsi, de bénéficier de manière plus globale à notre planète.

Paradoxalement, malgré le fait que ces paysans garantissent notre sécurité alimentaire, ils appartiennent aux populations les plus menacées du monde. Plus de 70% de ces populations les plus pauvres sont des paysans des régions rurales d’Afrique, d’Asie, et d’Amérique Latine. Ils n’arrivent pas à être productifs car ils ne peuvent que très difficilement accéder aux ressources, aux crédits, et aux technologies modernes.

Par ailleurs, le réchauffement climatique menace la production agricole. Les enjeux économiques, sociaux, et environnementaux liés à l’agriculture familiale sont particulièrement graves en Afrique de l’Ouest et dans les pays du Sahel. Ces régions sont les plus vulnérables aux défis de l’adaptation au réchauffement climatique et elles dépendent fortement de leurs écosystèmes naturels.

L’objectif du Livelihoods Camp 2015 est de rassembler des acteurs issus des secteurs public et privé qui travaillent dans les domaines de l’agriculture et du développement durable. Ensemble, nous pouvons co-développer des meilleures solutions pour équiper les paysans avec les bons outils et les compétences nécessaires pour accroître leur productivité dans un modèle d’agriculture durable. Plusieurs preuves illustrent que des paysans pauvres peuvent accroître leur potentiel de productivité quand de bonnes politiques et pratiques sont mises en place. Les acteurs publics et privés peuvent aider ces paysans en leur apportant également des services financiers, à l’instar de l’accès au crédit et l’assurance. Le but du Camp est de promouvoir un échange profond et un réseau dynamique.