CONTEST & CAMP THEMES

How to increase agricultural production while respecting nature?

You have successfully increased your agricultural output by a considerable volume by the use of different farming techniques, such as fertilization methods, mixing crops, innovative water management, and the sustainable use of local natural resources, etc. Your initiative has helped to improve soil fertility in regards to growing one type of crop or several types of crops on the same terrain, or in rendering unproductive lands fertile again.

How to adapt to climate change?

You have been able to implement the following with, or for, local populations, in association with public or private actors:

  • Agricultural techniques that adapt to water scarcity (drought, modification of river flows, etc.) or adapt to the excess of water (floods, etc.)
  • Innovative agricultural practices that allow for the improved management of a watershed by limiting soil erosion and/or by reinforcing the capacity to store water.
  • Innovative solutions that combine the preservation of an ecosystem (forests, lakes and rivers) with the increased productivity of farms.

How to better sell your agricultural products?

You have been able to develop commercial strategies that are both simple and efficient to allow farmers’ groups to sell their products on local, national and international markets. You have been able to develop organisations and tools that facilitate access to market with farmers (i.e. information systems, financing, storage capacity, organization of collective farming cooperatives, etc.) You have successfully implemented programs (training, communication) that assure farmers maintain a healthy balance between their production of cash crops and subsistence crops that guarantee their food security.

How to empower farmers and farming communities?

You have implemented, on a large scale, methods that facilitate the sharing, learning and transfer of agricultural practices. Through your actions, you have helped empower women’s groups by reinforcing their skills and by strengthening their role in their communities. With efficient methods of management and governance, you have permitted farmers to reinforce their collective organizations (i.e. cooperatives, Economic Interest Group, etc.) and in particular in regards to the following fields: access to market, education, health, financing. .

THÈMES DU CONCOURS ET DU CAMP

Comment augmenter sa production agricole en respectant la nature ?

Vous avez réussi à augmenter fortement vos rendements agricoles par différentes techniques, de fertilisation, en mixant des cultures, par l’utilisation de l’eau, par l’utilisation durable de ressources naturelles locales, etc. Votre réalisation a permis d’augmenter la fertilité d’une terre soit à produire plus d’une même culture, soit à produire plusieurs types de cultures sur une même terre, soit à produire sur des terres dégradées qui n’étaient plus fertiles.

Comment s’adapter au changement climatique ?

Vous avez su mettre en œuvre avec et pour les populations locales, en associant des acteurs publics et privés :

  • Des techniques au service de l’agriculture permettant de s’adapter aux manques d’eau (sècheresse, modification des flux des rivières, etc.) ou aux excès d’eau (inondations, etc.)
  • Des pratiques agricoles innovantes permettant une meilleure gestion d’un bassin versant en limitant l’érosion des terres et/ou en renforçant la capacité de stocker de l’eau.
  • Des solutions innovantes qui combinent la conservation d’un écosystème (forêt, lacs et rivières, etc.) et l’efficacité des fermes.

Comment mieux vendre sa production ?

Vous avez su construire et développer des stratégies commerciales simples et efficaces pour permettre à des groupes d’agriculteurs de vendre leur production sur les marchés locaux, nationaux et internationaux. Vous avez su développer avec les agriculteurs des organisations et des outils d’aide à la commercialisation : systèmes d’information, financement, stockage, organisation collective de producteurs. Vous avez réussi des programmes (formation, communication) assurant aux agriculteurs un bon équilibre entre culture de ventes et culture vivrière permettant d’assurer la sécurité alimentaire.

Comment gagner en autonomie ?

Vous avez mis en œuvre à échelle significative et avec des communautés paysannes des méthodes de partage, d’apprentissage, de transfert de pratiques agricoles qui ont montré leur efficacité. Vous avez permis, par vos actions, à des groupements de femmes de gagner en autonomie, renforcer leurs compétences et leur rôle dans la communauté villageoise. Vous avez permis, grâce à des méthodes efficaces de gestion de management et de gouvernance, à des fermiers de renforcer leur organisation collective (coopérative, GIE, etc.) et en particulier dans les domaines suivants : accès aux marchés, éducation, santé, financement, etc.