VISIT ON THE FIELD

GUIÈ FARM:  A PIONEER FARM IN BURKINA FASO

Desertification is a persistent threat for inhabitants in the heart of the arid Sahel region. In addition to low levels of rainfall and the poor quality of the soil, livestock often eat young tree saplings and thus further discourage any vegetation growth.

To help restore these unproductive lands, the pilot Guiè Farm was created in 1989 with the mission to reverse desertification and render these lands fertile again, thus helping farmers improve their yields, incomes and livelihoods. This objective is met through teaching local farmers techniques that revolve around the innovative agricultural system of the Sahelian grove (wooded perimeters), or “wégoubri” in the local Moore language. Here are the following areas of work implemented by the experimental farm:

  • Three areas of work:
    • Experimenting with new farming techniques;
    • The training of people through learning (for young people) and FFS (for adults);
    • The development of sustainable agriculture through direct support to farmers, mainly for the development of the grove.
  • 5 sections:
    • Nursery
    • Breeding
    • Technical management
    • Farm Equipment
    • Land development

To find out more about the farm’s activites and discover its history, visit the website here: http://www.eauterreverdure.org/guie

In addition to the farm’s creation, a farmer’s organization comprised of the 10 villages in the region of Guiè was created in order to share best practices and offer mutual support. The organization is called Association Zoramb Naagtaaba (AZN). To find out more about the organization, visit the website here: http://eauterreverdure.org/azn-guie-burkina.org

VISITE DU TERRAIN

LA FERME DE GUIÈ : UNE FERME PILOTE AU BURKINA FASO

La désertification est une menace permanente pour les habitants du Sahel. En plus du faible niveau de pluviosité dans cette région et de la mauvaise qualité des sols, le bétail mange souvent plantes et arbres, empêchant toute croissance végétale.

Afin de restaurer les sols, la ferme pilote de Guiè a été créée en 1989 avec la mission d’empêcher la désertification et de restaurer des terres afin qu’elles soient à nouveau productives. La Ferme de Guiè aide les paysans à accroître leur productivité, leurs revenus et leurs moyens de subsistance. Cet objectif se réalise par l’apprentissage de meilleures pratiques et techniques agricoles durables qui convergent vers un nouveau système agricole, le bocage sahélien (wégoubri en langue locale Mooré). Voici les axes de travail mis en œuvre par la Ferme de Guiè :

  • 3 axes de travail :
    • L’expérimentation de nouvelles techniques agricoles ;
    • La formation des populations par l’apprentissage (pour les jeunes) et les champs-écoles (pour les adultes) ;
    • Le développement de l’agriculture durable par un appui direct aux paysans, principalement pour l’aménagement du bocage.
  • 5 sections :
    • Pépinière
    • Elevage
    • Encadrement technique
    • Equipement agricole
    • Aménagement foncier

Pour en savoir plus sur les activités de la Ferme et découvrir son histoire, visitez le site internet ici : http://www.eauterreverdure.org/guie

En plus de la création de cette ferme pilote, une association de 10 villages de la région de Guiè a été montée pour renforcer le partage de bonnes pratiques et offrir aide et soutien aux communautés paysannes. Cette organisation s’appelle l’Association Zoramb Naagtaaba (AZN). Pour en savoir plus sur l’organisation, visitez son site internet ici: http://eauterreverdure.org/azn-guie-burkina.org