ABOUT THE CAMP

The world’s population will reach 9 billion by 2050. Are we ready to feed an extra 2 billion mouths? Consensus has been growing around the crucial role of family farmers in ensuring food security for our future populations. In fact, with over 500 million family farms in the world today, this is the predominant form of agriculture and it is inextricably linked to the fight against hunger and poverty.

We are very conscious of the key role that family farmers will play towards the eradication of hunger; in making the shift to more sustainable and inclusive food production systems, and in reducing rural poverty for future generations. At the Livelihoods Camp 2015, we put the spotlight on them by recognizing their unique contributions to our society. This unique occasion celebrates best practices and initiatives that allow them to increase their productivity, thus benefiting the rest of our planet.

>> Read more


PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Learn more about the purpose of the Livelihoods Camp 2015, its participants, camp dates, accommodation and other important details.

>>Read more


VISIT ON THE FIELD 

To help restore these unproductive lands, the pilot farm Guiè was created in 1989 with the mission to reverse desertification and render these lands fertile again, thus helping farmers improve their yields, incomes and livelihoods.

>> Read more


CAMP PROGRAM

Participants alternated between visits on the field, interactive thematic workshops, and plenary sessions. All guests were expected to actively participate and to make concrete proposals throughout the duration of the Livelihoods Camp.

>> Read more


PREVIOUS EDITIONS

140 participants representing 61 organizations from 21 different countries gathered for the 2012 Livelihoods Camp in India to co-build solutions for rural communities to live in healthy, sustainable ecosystems.

>> Read more

À PROPOS DU CAMP

La population mondiale atteindra 9 milliards de personnes en 2050. Serons-nous prêts à nourrir 2 milliards d’hommes et femmes supplémentaires d’ici 2050 ? Un consensus mondial a émergé progressivement sur l’importance du rôle que joue l’agriculture familiale pour la sécurité alimentaire dans le monde entier. Effectivement, avec quelques 500 millions de petites fermes aujourd’hui, l’agriculture familiale est la forme prédominante d’agriculture dans le secteur de la production alimentaire et est étroitement liée avec la lutte contre la faim et la pauvreté.

Nous sommes très conscients du rôle clé que les petits agriculteurs jouent dans l’éradication de la pauvreté et la transition vers des systèmes de productions agricoles plus inclusifs et durables. À l’occasion du Livelihoods Camp 2015, nous voulons mettre l’accent sur les paysans et reconnaître leur contribution à notre société. Cette occasion unique récompensera les meilleures pratiques et initiatives qui permettent aux paysans des plus petites communautés rurales d’accroître leur productivité et ainsi, de bénéficier de manière plus globale à notre planète.

>> En savoir plus


 INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

Du 23 au 26 février 2015, au Burkina Faso, des paysans, des ONG, des entreprises privées, des chercheurs, et des représentants de gouvernements ont travaillé ensemble afin de créer et partager les meilleures pratiques et projets de l’agriculture durable.

>> En savoir plus


VISITE DU TERRAIN : LA FERME DE GUIÈ

Afin de restaurer les sols, la ferme pilote de Guiè a été créée en 1989 avec la mission d’empêcher la désertification et de restaurer des terres afin qu’elles soient à nouveau productives.

>> En savoir plus


LE PROGRAMME DU CAMP 

Les participants ont alterné entre visites de terrain, travaux en ateliers thématiques interactifs et séances plénières. Une participation active et des propositions concrètes étaient attendues de la part des participants tout au long du Camp.

>> En savoir plus


ÉDITIONS PRÉCÉDENTES 

140 participants représentant 61 organisations de 21 pays différents se sont réunis au Livelihoods Camp 2012, en Inde, afin de co-construire des solutions permettant aux communautés rurales de vivre dans des écosystèmes plus sains et plus durables.

>> En savoir plus